Commanders defensive linemen go through drills at mini-camp

Matthew Godin, a defensive end from Michigan, was me taking pictures. He had a little fun making sure I saw him. - photo by Joe Alexander
Matthew Godin, a defensive end from Michigan, saw me taking pictures. He had a little fun making sure I saw him, too.
Saturday’s final practice of San Antonio Commanders mini-camp saw beautiful weather with sunshine and not much wind. Here is a look at the defensive linemen going through drills with assistant coach Jim McInerney.

Arthur Miley, Ashaad Mabry, Deion Barnes, Herbert Gonzales, John Sheehy, Jordan Wade, Matthew Godin and Winston Craig were going through the defensive line drills.

The Commanders open the inaugural Alliance of American Football (AAF) season on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019 at home at the Alamodome against the San Diego Fleet.

Commanders assistant coach Jeff McInerny works with the defensive linemen Saturday at mini-camp. - photo by Joe Alexander
Commanders assistant coach Jeff McInerney works with the defensive linemen Saturday at mini-camp.

Alliance San Antonio adds three players including UTSA lineman

The Alliance of American Football (AAF) released its newest list of signings on Friday.

The list includes three new players with Alliance San Antonio.
Marlon Smith, DE, UTSA
Herbert Gonzales, NT, Texas State
Danny Ezechukwu, LB, Purdue

Smith is from San Antonio and played at Wagner High School. UTSA listed him at 6-foot-6, 225 pounds. He played in 2014 and 2015 for the Ottawa RedBlacks of the Canadian Football League (CFL).

Gonzales is from San Antonio and played at Southwest High School. He started his college career at UTEP and transferred to Texas State. The Bobcats listed him a 6-foot, 290 pounds.

Ezechukwu is from Lithonia, Georgia. Purdue listed him at 6-foot-2, 250 pounds. He signed with the Philadelphia Eagles and an undrafted free agent earlier this year.

Here is the full list of new signings released by the league:

Arnold Brandon DB Oregon State
Bradford Carl LB Arizona State
Butler James RB Nevada-Reno
Crockett John RB North Dakota State
Downey Da’Sean LB Massachusetts
Hill Bronson RB Eastern Michigan
Hillary Darius DB Wisconsin
Jones Jarnor Jay DB Iowa State
Mullaney Richard WR Oregon State
Robinson Edmond LB Newberry
Rose Larry RB New Mexico State
Rotimi Olubunmi DE Old Dominion
Sutton Will DT Arizona State

Calhoun Kendall T Cincinnati
Carter Reggie LB Georgia
Freeman KeShun LB Georgia Tech
Gallon Jeremy WR Michigan
Hunter Khalil G Louisville
Miles Donnie DB North Carolina
Pascascio Gio WR Louisville

Barge Josh WR Jacksonville State
Barnes Brandon TE Alabama State
Brantley Harold DT NW Missouri State
James Nick DT Mississippi State
Penton Aarion DB Missouri
Sayles Casey DT Ohio
Skinner Deontae LB Mississippi State
Washington L’Damian WR Missouri
White Ryan DB Auburn

Briggs Chris WR Southeastern Louisiana
Cardiello Josh C Chattanooga
Cutrer Jeremy DB Middle Tenn. State
Givens Chris WR Wake Forest
Toure Abou RB Tennessee-Martin

Canady Bryce DB Florida International
Dye Donteea WR Heidelberg
Jackson Tre G Florida State
Joseph Roubbens G Buffalo
Mathieu Claudy DE Notre Dame College (OH)
Myers Mark DB Southeastern (FL)
Powell Ronald LB Florida
Smith D’Joun DB Florida Atlantic
Steinmetz David T Purdue

Callender Nick G Colorado State
Cottom Brandon RB Purdue
Davis Will DB Utah State
Duckworth Aaron RB Idaho
Jackson Blake WR Mary Hardin-Baylor
Moxley Trae G Colorado State
Odom Chris DE Arkansas State
Rausa Tyler K Boise State
Thompson Juwan RB Duke

Ezechukwu Danny LB Purdue
Gonzales Herbert NT Texas State
Smith Marlon DE Texas-San Antonio

Marx Daniel RB Stanford